Wineries open in the winter

*** NOTE – This list hasn’t been updated in a long time and I’m trying to get new information for it over the next few weeks. A winery’s business hours (especially smaller wineries) can change pretty quickly and a lot of them will gladly open up the shop if you let them know in advance that you’re going to be there. Only medium to large wineries can afford to staff their shops year-round and there aren’t many of those around. Even tracking down winery people for interviews in the winter is sometimes a challenge for me. But that’s the way it is in wine country. Until this list gets a proper update, you can always check out The Big List of Wineries in BC which was recently updated. Happy touring!

 

Planning on doing some off-season touring? Going to be in wine country and want to check out a couple of wineries on a free afternoon? While most of the smaller wineries are closed for the season, there are some wineries that offer tastings year-round. There might even be some action in the vineyards or on the crush pads if you happen to be there during icewine harvest.

Check the winery’s website for current hours of operation and seasonal times. Some of them are still open but might have reduced hours or have visits by appointment only. Don’t be afraid of wineries that are only open by appointment (maybe they should use another term, like ‘tasting date’ or ‘scheduled tasting’ – Dentists need appointments). They are more than willing to accommodate any times that you are going to be visiting.

Restaurants at the winery may or may not be open year-round as well so don’t assume that they will have all of their services running. Calling ahead is the best way for thins

With less people around, people in the wine shops usually have much more time to chat and aren’t in as much of a rush as they would be in the busy summer season. You can learn quite a lot about the winery and more intricate details about each wine when there isn’t a crush of people crowding the wine shop tasting bar.

Here is a list of 63 wineries that are open for business during the winter months. Always check with the winery directly to make sure that they will be open on the day that you are planning to visit.

Winery Winter Hours
8th Generation Vineyard www.8thgenerationvineyard.com
Weekends 11am – 5pm / Jan – May1: by Appointment
Bonita’s Vineyard www.hijas-bonitas.com Weekends by Appointment Only
Burrowing Owl Vineyards www.burrowingowlwine.ca Sales only 10-4pm Weekends by appointment only
Calona Vineyards www.calonavineyards.ca Daily 9am to 6pm
Camelot Vineyards www.camelotvineyards.ca by Appointment Only
Cassini Cellars www.cassini.ca by Appointment Only
Cedar Creek Estate Winery www.cedarcreek.bc.ca Daily 11am – 5pm (No tours)
Cerelia Vineyard www.cerelia.ca by Appointment Only
Chandra Estate Winery www.chandrawinery.ca by Appointment Only
D’Angelo Estate Winery www.dangelowinery.com Weekends by Appointment Only
Desert Hills Estate Winery www.deserthills.ca Open Daily:11am – 4pm Closed after Christmas
Dirty Laundry Winery www.dirtylaundry.ca Nov 1 to Dec 31 (Mon to Fri 11-4pm Sat & Sun 12 to 5pm) Jan to Apr (Mon-Fri 11-4pm)
Elephant Island Fruit Winery www.elephantislandwine.com by Appointment Only
Fairview Cellars Estate Winery www.mypage.uniserve.ca
by Appointment Only
Forbidden Fruit Winery www.forbiddenfruitwines.com
by Appointment Only
Gehringer Brothers Estate Winery Mon to Fri 10am to 5pm
Golden Beaver Winery www.goldenbeaverwinery.com
Wed – Sun 12pm to 5pm Closed Dec 7 to Jan 7
Gray Monk Estate Winery www.graymonk.com
Nov 1 to April 30 Daily:10am -5 pm Tour at 2 pm
Hainle Vineyards www.hainle.com Nov 1 to Apr 14 Mon to Fri 11am to 5pm
Hester Creek Estate Winery www.hestercreek.com
Daily 10am to 4pm
Hollywood and Wine Vineyard by Appointment Only
House of Rose www.houseofrose.ca
Daily 10am – 6pm
Inniskillin Okanagan Vineyards www.inniskillin.com Daily 10am to 4pm
Jackson-Triggs Vinters www.jacksontriggswinery.com Daily 10am to 4pm
Kalala Organic Estate Winery www.kalalawines.ca
by Appointment Only
Kettle Valley Winery www.kettlevalleywinery.com Sales by Appointment Only (no tastings)
La Stella Winery www.lastella.ca Mon – Sat 11 – 5pm
Lang Vineyards www.langvineyards.com Nov 2 to Dec 23 Daily: 11am – 4pm
Laughing Stock Vineyards www.laughingstock.ca
by Appointment Only
Le Vieux Pin www.levieuxpin.ca
by Appointment Only
Marichel Vineyard www.marichel.ca
by Appointment Only
Mission Hill Family Estate www.missionhillwinery.com
Daily 10 to5 pm
Mount Boucherie Estate Winery www.mtboucherie.bc.ca
Nov to May – Daily 11am to 5pm
Nichol Vineyard & Farm Winery www.nicholvineyard.com
Sales by Appointment Only
NK’MIP Cellars www.nkmipcellars.com
Daily 9am to 5pm
Oliver Twist Winery www.olivertwistwinery.com
by Appointment Only
Orofino Vineyards www.orofinovineyards.com
by Appointment Only
Poplar Grove Wine and Cheese Weekends Nov / Dec
Quail’s Gate Estate Winery www.quailsgate.com
Mon – Sat 10am to 6pm Restaurant Open All Year
Quinta Ferreira Winery www.quintaferreira.com
by Appointment Only
Red Rooster Winery www.redroosterwinery.com Daily 11am to 5pm
Road 13 Vineyards www.road13vineyards.com
Mon – Friday 11am to 3pm
Rolling Dale Winery www.rollingdale.ca by Appointment Only
Rustic Roots Fruit Winery www.rusticrootswinery.com by Appointment Only
See Ya Later Ranch www.hmvineyard.com Daily 10am to 4:00pm
Seven Stones Winery www.sevenstones.ca by Appointment Only
Silver Sage Winery www.silversagewinery.com Thurs to Mon 11am – 5pm Closed Tues & Wed
Sleeping Giant Fruit Winery www.summerlandsweets.com
Mon– Fri 9am – 4pm Sat 10am – 5pm
Sonoran Estate Winery www.sonoranestate.com
by Appointment Only
St. Lazlo Vineyards Daily 9 am – 7 pm
St. Hubertus Estate Winery www.st-hubertus.bc.ca
Nov to Jan 31 Daily 10am – 5pm Feb to May Tue – Sat 10am – 4pm
Stags Hollow Winery www.stagshollowwinery.com
by Appointment Only
Stoneboat Vineyards www.stoneboatvineyards.com
by Appointment Only
Sumac Ridge Estate Winery http://www.sumacridge.com
Daily 10am to 5pm (No tours until April)
Summerhill Pyramid Winery www.summerhill.bc.ca
Daily 9am – 7pm, Tours @ 12 pm & 2 pm
Tangled Vine Vineyard www.tangledvineswinery.com
by Appointment Only
Tantalus Vineyards www.tantalus.ca
Mon – Friday by Appointment Only
Therapy Vineyards www.therapyvineyards.com
Fri Sat Sun – 11am to 5pm or by Appointment
Thornhaven Estate Winery www.thornhaven.com
by Appointment Only
Tinhorn Creek Vineyard www.tinhorn.com
Daily 10am – 5pm Self Guided Tours
Township 7 Vineyard www.township7.com
By Appointment Only until February (Fri -Sun 12 to 5)
Van Westen Vineyards www.vanwestenvineyards.com
by Appointment Only
Wild Goose Vineyards www.wildgoosewinery.com
by Appointment Only
Working Horse Winerywww.workinghorsewinery.com
by Appointment Only